Waves III


Recorded at Trackdown Scoring Stage, Sydney Sept 2013 and July 2014
Engineered, mixed and mastered by Daniel Brown
Produced by Halcyon
Cover photo: Michael Chetham
Cover graphic: Elizabeth Duck-Chong

Available as a CD from Halcyon here.
Available as an mp3 download from Halcyon here.
Also available as mp3 from cdbaby

Click here to download the full texts of the works.
Click here to download the notes and bios.

Released by Halcyon on 29 November 2016

Audio Samples

Live performances

The third of Halcyon’s EP releases, Waves III features two new song cycles by Australian composers Raffaele Marcellino and Nigel Butterley. 

Commissioned by Halcyon, both works focus on a figure from Greek mythology and feature texts by contemporary Australian poets. A Strange Kind of Paradise (2010), for four female voices and harp, by Raffaele Marcellino centres on abandoned Ariadne, with poems by Jordie Albiston. Scored for mezzo-soprano, soprano, flute, clarinet, oboe, violin, viola, cello and guitar, Nigel Butterley’s Orphei Mysteria (2008), sets poems by Patricia Excell which explore elements of the Orpheus myth. 


  • Nigel Butterley Orphei Mysteria (2008)

  • Raffaele Marcellino A Strange Kind of Paradise (2013)

BUTTERLEY:  Matthew Wood conductor, Jenny Duck-Chong mezzo soprano, Alison Morgan soprano, Sally Walker flutes, Peter Smith clarinets, Alexandre Oguey oboe/cor anglais, Giuseppe Zangari guitar, Victoria Jacono-Gilmovich violin, James Wannan viola, Geoffrey Gartner cello
MARCELLINO: Alison Morgan soprano  Belinda Montgomery soprano  Jenny Duck-Chong mezzo-soprano  Jo Burton  mezzo-soprano  Genevieve Lang harp