kingfisher cover.jpg

Recorded at Trackdown Scoring Stage, Sydney in May-July 2014.  Engineered and mixed by Daniel Brown. 
Mastered by Christo Curtis, Utopia Audio.
Cover photograph: Lorenzo Cortelletti
Cover design: Liz Duck-Chong

Available as a CD from Halcyon
Also available as a CD from Tall Poppies and the Australian Music Centre and as mp3s from itunes


Released by Tall Poppies 15 November 2015

Click on the links to listen to tracks by Moya Henderson and Gordon Kerry 

Read more about the Kingfisher project here

Hear more about the pieces on our Kingfisher composers interview playlist:

Kingfisher: Songs for Halcyon (TP263), released through Tall Poppies, features 21 new commissions written in celebration of Halcyon's 15th birthday.  An outstanding collection which showcases the richness of Australian contemporary writing for voice and chamber ensemble.


  • Andrew Ford: To My Excellent Lucasia, on our Friendship [2:42]

  • Stuart Greenbaum: Opalescence [4:00]

  • Paul Stanhope: My Love in Her Attire [1:38]

  • Elliott Gyger: The Pleiades at Midnight [4:27]

  • Stephen Adams: Sometimes snow fell, sometimes darkness... [3:43]

  • Jane Stanley: Round the Bay [3:31]

  • Graham Hair: All About Anna [4:06]

  • Rosalind Page: Aquila’s wing [2:49]

  • Nicholas Vines: A King’s Manifesto [6:01]

  • Katy Abbott: Follow Me Through the Shadow [2:57]

  • Dan Walker: The Mystic Blue [3:40]

  • Ross Edwards: The Tranquil Mind [3:16]

  • Kevin March: Sea-blue Bird [4:07]

  • Sharon Calcraft: Verathmende, Schillernde, Blitzende... [3:09]

  • Andrew Schultz: Lake Moonrise, Op. 94 [3:56]

  • Gordon Kerry: Music (La Musique) [2:59]

  • Raffaele Marcellino: Turbulent Passions Calm [3:43]

  • John Peterson: See, the Prismatic Colors Glisten [4:47]

  • Nigel Butterley: Nature Changes at the Speed of Life [2:41]

  • Moya Henderson: I Lost a World the Other Day [3:38]

  • Gillian Whitehead: All One Water [4:24]


Alison Morgan soprano, Jenny Duck-Chong mezzo soprano, Laura Chislett Jones piccolo, flute, alto flute, bass flute  Jason Noble clarinet, bass clarinet, Geoffrey Gartner cello, Willam Jackson & Joshua Hill percussion

This CD is the result of a daring project to commission 21 composers to write new works for Halcyon’s two singers, Jenny Duck-Chong and Alison Morgan. Presented over 2 concerts in their 15th anniversary year, and then recorded at Trackdown, the works are now available to all. The music, commissioned from some of Australia’s finest composers (all of whom have had involvement with Halcyon), is varied and intriguing and functions as a snapshot of recent Australian composition.
The performances are electric. What more could one want? Oh yes, all the recordings are world premieres!
— Tall Poppies