Willow Songs

26 September 2009  Trackdown Scoring Stage, Moore Park
Presented by the New Music Network & Halcyon

Japanese haiku has been a influential poetic form from the 16th century until the present age of twitter-inspired 'twaiku'.  This succinct poetic style responds beautifully to a vocal chamber music setting; each carefully chosen word can inspire fresh musical colours.  Halcyon showcases the talents of composers from around the globe, including Roberto Gerhard, Anne Boyd, Elena Firsova, Colin Matthews and Julian Yu, with a selection of contemporary haiku settings for voice and instruments. The performance culminates in the world premiere of a new song cycle by composer, writer and broadcaster Andrew Ford, on poems by Anglo-American poet Anne Stevenson. Willow Songs is a picture of a woman’s life in reverse, from defiant, outrageous maturity to vulnerable girlhood.



Julian Yu             Four Haiku (1992)                   

Anne Boyd          3 songs from Cycle of Love (1981)

Elena Firsova       Seven Haiku after Matsuo Basho Op. 47 (1991)  [AP]   

Roberto Gerhard   Sept Haiku (1922/58)               

Ton de Leeuw       Song I & III from Haiku: Songs and Interludes for voice and piano (1963)

Colin Matthews     Strugnell’s Haiku (1990)                              

Andrew Ford         Willow Songs  (2009)  [WP]

[WP] World premiere  [AP] Australian premiere



Mark Shiell  conductor  Alison Morgan  soprano  Jenny Duck-Chong  mezzo soprano  Sally Walker  flutes   Laura Chislett Jones alto flute  Jason Noble  clarinets  Rie Tamaru  oboe   Gillian Hansen  bassoon  John Douglas  percussion  Stephanie McCallum piano  Sally Whitwell  piano  Steven Meyer  cello  Joseph Littlefield  guitar


If you'd like to know more about Halcyon news or events, please sign up for our free e-newsletter.